Throw Some Salt on It

You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men. ~Matthew 5:13


My husband is a snacker. Our home is not quite a home if he does not have a ready supply of his favorite candy, chips, and soda. He’s notorious for making late night runs to the store, just to get something to snack on and something good to drink. I thought about his snacking tendencies as I reflected on this salt passage. I love to drink water. I can go for weeks at a time without drinking any other beverage. For him, however, water is not enough to quench his thirst. He needs a soda, some juice, or at least some type of sports drink—just don’t….give…him…water.

Salt makes me thirsty. Prior to knowing Christ intimately, I found myself trying to fill my thirst with carnal things. I couldn’t buy enough clothes or enough shoes. If I was sad or depressed, my first instinct was that shopping could make it better. While my issue was usually sadness or depression, some people will find themselves trying to fill the void of loneliness. They will spend time with the wrong people just for the sake of not being alone. Or maybe you know someone who gives things that they really can’t afford just for the sake of keeping a relationship—things such as sex, money, or even their precious time. Have you ever paused to ask yourself—What are they thirsty for?

I’ll be the first to say that Jesus is the best thing that ever happened to me. Every thirst that I have can be quenched in him. But getting to know Jesus requires looking at ourselves—the ugliness…the vices…our REAL issues. It causes us to examine our priorities and whether our thirsts are really legitimate. The more I experience Jesus quenching my thirst, the more I find myself thirsting after him. The more I experience the peace of having my desires met, the more I long for others to experience the same level of wholeness.

We should make people thirsty for a relationship with God. Thirsty for a life of knowing Jesus as their personal Lord and savior. But, how do we do this? We need to be the salt that makes them thirsty. The salt that makes them desire the peace that we have, which surpasses all understanding (Philippians 4:7).

Did you know that salt is required for our physical survival? Your body needs it in order to maintain fluid in your blood cells and also for transmitting information in our nerves and muscles. Our bodies cannot produce salt, so we are dependent on getting it from the food that we eat. Salt is essential to life. Spiritually, we need salt to keep us thirsty after God. In the Old Testament, salt was even used in battle. After combat, a warrior would scatter salt on an enemy’s land in order to prevent it from ever producing plants again—thereby making the land uninhabitable (see Judges 9:45). Yes, salt was used in battle.

What do I gather from all this? If my food doesn’t taste right, throw some salt on it…But know that I’m going to need a drink to quench the thirst that follows. Likewise we must be the salt in the world that causes people to thirst after God. If your situation doesn’t look right, throw some salt on it. Salt can keep the enemy from setting up camp near you. If you’re trying to be a light in the midst of your relationships with people, throw some salt in it. Don’t underestimate the power of salt. It’s in you, my brother and sister. Put it to use.

Ask God: What can I throw some salt on today?

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

3 responses to “Throw Some Salt on It

Leave a Reply

