Is My Love Evident?

“By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” ~ John 13:35

Loving others proves that you are a disciple of Jesus Christ. I can only wonder why Jesus did not explicitly state whether there are some people who we should love and some that we should not bother to love. While speaking to his disciples, he tells them, “…if you love one another.” Does this mean that they should only love other disciples? Could this have later been understood to mean that Christians should only love other Christians? Would it be impossible to spread the Gospel message if we told people, “If you believe in Christ, you will have an entire community of folks who will love you!” Instead, it seems that people would be more likely to inquire about Jesus if they know that there is a community that already loves them, unconditionally–without receiving anything, not even a profession of faith, in return.

And yet, this is what Jesus did for humankind. He died for us before we were even able to start thinking about him. Perhaps you were like me–heard the story of Christ, but decided that now was not the time to start thinking about him. “I’ll start following Christ when I am older,” seems to be a popular mindset among people. I wonder if this is why the Bible tells us to remember the Lord in the days of our youth (Eccl. 12:1). It is easy to postpone having a loving relationship until a more convenient time–later, after we have gotten all of the partying out of our system. But we are not promised to see tomorrow. I would hate for someone to die today with the mindset of: I’ll start loving God tomorrow–only to never make it to tomorrow. My God…

“By this all men will know that you are my disciples (John 13:35).” I understand all men as referring to every man, woman, and child that we will ever interact with. The love that we have for others should be evident simply through our relationships with people. It isn’t a mere statement of  “I love you,” but it is worked out through what we do for one another. The second greatest commandment is to love your neighbor as yourself (Mark 12:31). This is the ultimate test in seeing if we are loving one another the way that God intended.

This is my prayer: Lord help me to love others the way that you love me.  Amen…

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

2 responses to “Is My Love Evident?

Leave a Reply

