Do You Want to Be Kept? – Part 1

A daily prayer of mine: “Lord keep me…my husband…my family…my loved ones…my friends…” I ask God on a daily basis to keep the ones that are dearest to my heart. The other day, I came across a verse that made me curious about God’s keeping power.  Here’s what part of the verse says:  “…kept by the power of God through faith… (1 Peter 1:5a).” I did a word study on “keep” and what I found was so rich, that I’m going to develop a series on this topic.  While praying to God about this, it seemed as if I could hear him say: If you want me to keep you, then you better understand what that entails.

If you keep something, it is considered to be within your custody. When I traveled to the Bahamas, I found a beautiful rock on the beach and decide to keep it. I brought it back home in my custody. I claimed ownership of it. When we ask God to hold us in his hand, like I held that rock on the beach, we are asking him to guard us as his cherished possession. If you own something valuable, you will guard it, protect it….and you might even keep it hidden at times.

In Greek, the word for keep is a battle term. It can be understood as a soldier standing guard against an enemy. That soldier knows that he/she will have to fight for the land, if necessary. In asking God to keep us, we’re asking him to guard us, and to even fight for us, just like the soldier.

One of my favorite gospel singers, Fred Hammond, sings a song called “Jesus Be a Fence.” The chorus goes like this:

Jesus, be a fence

All around me every day

Jesus I want you to protect me

As I travel along the way

I know you can, I know you will

Fight my battles if I just keep still

Lord, be a fence all around me every day

When I hear this song, I picture a home with a white picket fencepicket-fence.  That fence has the power to keep people out, keep people in, and limit the traffic on and off the property. It protects the property that it surrounds. As we prepare to dive into this topic on God’s keeping power, I pray that his presence will surround you just like that picket fence. I pray that you will be protected and kept.

Kept by Him,

S.

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

Leave a Reply

