I Just Want to Dance

dance1

I’ve been away from my blog much longer than I wanted to be. The fall quarter has become busier than I had anticipated. I have a full time class load and a part time internship. I also work full time, and am participating in two weddings during the month of November. Sometimes it seems like I cannot find enough hours in the day to do what I HAVE to do let alone what I want to do. Needless to say, I have missed writing.

In addition to all of the things that I am committed to, I am also recovering from a reconstructive knee surgery that took place just under six months ago. This requires me to be in physical therapy, as well as do some exercises at home on a daily basis. Lately, I’ve been reflecting on how well my knee has been healing, and how much progress I have made. God and I have had countless conversations during this healing process, and I remember telling him, “Lord, if you heal me, I will dance for you.”

A few weeks ago my honey and I went to a wedding, and we DANCED at the reception!–like we hadn’t danced in a long time. We did the cupid shuffle and everything! I reflected on this afterward, and wondered, am I ready now?

I don’t want to start anything prematurely, so I’m going to wait and pray. Everytime I hear Fred Hammond sing “When the Spirit of the Lord,” I just want to dance like David danced. The Bible says he danced with all his might (1 Samuel 6:14). When he was asked about the appropriateness of his dancing, he said that he was willing to become even more undignified while praising God (2 Samuel 6:22).

Now I’m praying that God will continue to heal me quickly. I just want to dance before him.

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

Leave a Reply

