200+ Qualities

In 170 days and 16 hours, I will marry the most wonderful man that I have ever met. As I think over my past dating relationships, I bless God that my honey is the only man that I have ever “fallen in love” with. When I was in high school, some friends and I made lists of what we wanted in our mates. Mine had to be cute, funny, ambitious. My list was so short…sort of shallow if you ask me! And it seemed to only focus on his personality and career aspirations. When I revisited the list in my mid twenties, I learned that there were plenty of characteristics that I would not have appreciated in my teen years. So, I started a new list. He had to be patient, humble, a strong leader, respectful, in love with God, and so many other things. I remember listing an excess of 200 qualities that I desired….not nearly as shallow as I had been before.

I made sure to pray about the qualities that I desired.

So here I am 2 years into a great relationship, less than six months away from our wedding date, and I’m reflecting on God’s goodness in creating this man for me. There were over 200 qualities on my “list,” but I’ve been blessed with so much more. This confirms yet again that God knows what we need before we ask him, and he used my honey to fulfill needs in me that I did not anticipate that I would have.

This morning, I read in Genesis 24 about Abraham’s servant choosing a wife for Isaac. He prayed to God that he would make it clear who the ONE for Isaac would be. What struck me is that he stated that she started approaching him before he finished praying!~~wow!!!  In the beginning of our relationship I prayed that God would make it clear because I knew that if John wasn’t the one, my heart would not be able to easily let go. Our relationship and decision to get married is the biggest decision that we will ever make. From this union, children will born, generational curses will be broken, and relationships will be healed.

I have understood God in new ways over the past two years. Intimacy, communication, transparency, quality time–are all things that John and I need in order for our relationship to grow. It’s the same with God. If my relationship with God is more important than any other, then I must make the time to cultivate it. While I’m at it, it couldn’t hurt to ask God to develop those 200+ qualities in me–patience, humility, perseverance…

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

One response to “200+ Qualities

  • Becky

    This is really good! I especially like the part about developing teh qualities in myself. I noticed that the last time stamp was in 2008. Have you stopped writing in this blog or am I missing it.

Leave a Reply

