Give Your Hurt to Me

I have been hurt by loved ones. It is no secret that the ones who can hurt you the most are those who are closest to you. Perhaps this has been another hindrance to my intimacy with God. The best defense against getting hurt is not giving people the opportunity—limiting what they know about you, limiting how much time you spend with them, and limiting the communication. It is my prayer that I do now allow hurt to make me fearful of being in a state of vulnerability before God.

In Psalm 55, the writer talks about the pain of being betrayed by a loved one (Psalm 55:12-14). I identify with this in that it is easier to deal with hurt when it is caused by someone who does not have my best interest at heart, but it’s so much more painful when it is caused by a loved one—(i.e. a close friend, companion, or family member).

Jesus is familiar with hurt. Matthew 26 tells the story of him being betrayed by one of his disciples. I’m encouraged by the fact that Jesus knew ahead of time that the betrayal would occur (Matthew 26:21). I am encouraged because Jesus did not allow the forthcoming hurt to change him. He did not hide, or stop communicating with his disciples. I admire his courage in maintaining the same level of intimacy that he had before.

I am challenged to remain consistent in my own being. In other words–I should not let the feelings of hurt change me. It is inevitable that I will experience hurt every now and then. I have to decide whether or not I will remain the same person that I am, regardless of the hurt that I experience. In other words, I can decide to not resort to the “defenses” that I mentioned earlier. I can decide to not limit my time or communication with those who hurt me. The decision is mine. God tells us through his word that we can take our cares to him because he cares for us (1 Peter 5:7). It is okay for me to be hurt, but rather than store that hurt up inside and let it turn into bitterness, I can take that hurt to God.

Lord, thank you for making yourself available to me. Thank you for offering to carry the burden of my hurt—taking it away from me.

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

Leave a Reply

