Hindrances to Intimacy with God

I’m reflecting on areas in my life that might serve as barriers to intimacy with God. It’s my desire to identify those areas so that I can manage them better. These are the current ones that I need to be mindful of:

1. Busyness–having entirely too much to do. I need to decline some invitations so that I am not always on the go.

2. Fatigue–I’m sure this relates to #1.

3. Procrastination–if I keep putting off intimacy, it will never happen.

4. The telephone/Internet–I get so easily distracted by these. Time seems to fly by when I am talking on the phone or surfing the net.

5. Lack of surrender–I cannot be transparent with God if I am not willing to put everything on the table. He desires the same loyalty that I desire of my fiance…soon to be husband:0)

6. Lack of Hunger–If I’m not hungry, then I am not motivated. I pray that I will always be hungry to know God in ways that I’ve never known before.

These are the biggest areas that have served as roadblocks to seeking intimacy with God. I pray that I will be ever so sensitive to my connection with him. Just as a radio that is out of tune produces static, being out of tune with God produces static in my spiritual life–the power cannot flow through. I pray that those disconnected periods will decrease, and that if I am tempted to disconnect that my spirit will be convicted.

I pray that disconnection will break my heart the same way that it breaks God’s.

About SheridanRichards

Many companies have policy and management challenges. I've met many people who have started nonprofits, but don't know how to manage or fund them. I can assist you with strategic planning and executing your big vision. I have over a decade of leadership experience and a strong track record in organizational development, human resources management, and fund development. I've worked with teams to build organizations from the ground up, expand donor bases, and raise three-quarters of a million dollars. I know what works. You will save time and energy if you hire me to assist you. I provide solutions in: Nonprofit Management, Organizational Development, Board Development, Fund Development Strategies, Community Engagement, Administration, Strategic Planning, Budgeting, Process Mapping, Policy Development, Human Resources Management, Benefits, Classification, Compensation, Employee Relations, Recruitment, Risk Management, Training. Contact me for a free 30-minute consultation. View all posts by SheridanRichards

Leave a Reply

